Goa may be among 9 air ports, which would enjoy E-Visa system

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 10 July 2014 15:50 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party government has announced introduction of electronic visas at nine air ports in next six months, in a phased manner.

The facility of visa on arrival is being presently made available at nine air ports in India, including Goa.

Though union finance minister Arun Jaitley did not name the nine air ports, he said the system of e-visa would facilitate the visa on arrival facility, presently available.

“In order to give a major boost to tourism in India, the facility of Electronic Travel Authorization (e-Visa) would be introduced in a phased manner at nine airports in India where necessary infrastructure would be put in place within the next six months”, said Jaitley.

The nine air ports providing visa on arrival facility are Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Goa, Trivandrum, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Kochi.


The facility is extended to the citizens of 11 countries: Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Myanmar, Philippines, and Indonesia.

“The countries to which the Electronic Travel authorisation facility would be extended would be identified in a phased manner”, Jaitley stated in his budget speech. 

There is a demand to extend the facility of visa on arrival also to Russia, as Goa gets large number of Russian tourists. 

goanews.com is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News