BJP loses Sankhli as Saglani elected chairman

VISHANT VAZE, BICHOLIM | 23 August 2013 11:24 IST

Dharmesh Saglani (right) with Damodar Ghadi

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party lost its hold over the Sankhli municipal council within three months, electing independent Dharmesh Saglani as its new chairperson.

BJP’s Milind Relekar was elected the chairperson on 21 May, with Dayanand Boryekar as the vice chairperson.

However, a no-cofidence motion was moved against both in the 11-member council on 2 July.

Damodar Ghadi, the BJP councillor, split from the group of six to defeat the BJP rulers from the council.

Ghadi was elected the vice chairperson yesterday along with Saglani as the new chairperson, with six out of 11 councillors voting in their favour.

BJP Sankhli MLA Pramod Sawant yesterday said the party would take disciplinary action against Ghadi for changing sides.

Upendra Karpe and Boryekar of the BJP were defeated in the election respectively for the posts of chairperson and vice chairperson.

Former Congress MLA Pratap Gawas congratulated newly elected council heads.

The results were declared by election officer Narayan Gaad.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Local Bodies