BJP's Relekar & Boryekar to head Sankhli

VISHANT VAZE, BICHOLIM | 21 May 2013 12:15 IST

Narayan Relekar, one of the four contestants of the Bharatiya Janata Party, was finally elected unopposed the new president of Sankhli municipal council.

The other three BJP councilors - Upendra Karpe, Damu Ghadi, and Manisha Pokle – withdrew from the fray, besides Dharmesh Saglani, an independent.

Dayanand Boryekar, another BJP councillor, was elected the vice president, through election.

He defeated Saglani, who also contested for vice president’s post, by 6-5 votes.

The BJP panel has a simple majority in the 11-member council, with only five hard core BJP persons elected the councillors.

Taking advantage of the fluid situation, the Congress had tried to win over Relekar on their side.

He thus benefited from the power race between the political parties as the BJP was left with no option than to make Relekar the president.

Sankhli’s BJP MLA Pramod Sawant was personally present at today’s election.

He claimed that the council would work for development by taking everybody into confidence. 

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Local Bodies