Ruling Cong defeated in Poinguinim

| 05 May 2005 14:49 IST

Voters of Poinguinim created history in Indian politics by defeating a minister Isidore Fernandes, who had defected from the BJP with a confidence that he can win the same seat with a ministerial position.

Fernandes had earlier defected from the Congress and had won a by-election from the same constituency, after joining the then BJP govoernment. People had re-elected him despite getting defected. Following are the results:

* Isidore Fernandes (Cong) loses to Ramesh Tavadkkar (BJP) in Poinguinim by 889 votes
* Digambar Kamat (Cong) defeats Sharmad Raiturkar (BJP) by 1377 votes in Margao
* Pandurang Madkaikar (Cong) retains Cumbarjua by defeating Nirmala Sawant (Ind) by 3755 votes
* Babush Monserette (Cong) wins by 6228 votes over Pradip Nagvekar (BJP) in Taleigao
* Micky Pacheco (NCP) wins Benaulim, defeating Monte Cruz (UGDP) by 2876 votes

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image