Panaji bye-poll on 13 Feb, Delhi election on 7 Feb

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 12 January 2015 20:43 IST

Panaji by-election will be held on 13 February, a Friday, along with five other Assembly seats in each state and one Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal.

Results would be declared on 16 February.

The Election Commission of India has also announced Delhi state Assembly elections on 7 February, with counting on 10 February.

Panaji seat had fallen vacant after former chief minister Manohar Parrikar, the five-time MLA, quit to take over as India’s defence minister.

He was elected unopposed as the Rajya Sabha MP from Lucknow.

The bye-election would be probably a straight fight between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress.

Sidharth Kunkolienkar, close aide of Parrikar, would contest to try and suceed succeed the defence minister.

Surendra Furtado, mayor of Panaji Corporation, is expected to contest as the Congress candidate.

Notification of the bye-election would be issued on 19 January, from when nominations would begin till 27 January.

With scrutiny the next day, the last date for withdrawal would be 30 January.

The other Assembly constituencies going for bye-poll are Liromoba (ST) in Arunachal Pradesh,  Srirangam in Tamil Nadu, Krishnaganj in West Bengal, Mukhed in Maharashtra and Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh.

A Lok Sabha bye-election would also be held in Bangaon in West Bengal. 

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News