No-confidence motion against Margao chairperson

ARVIND TENGSE, MADGAO | 29 August 2013 19:11 IST

Margao municipal chairperson Arthur D’Silva, within 15 months of his tenure, has faced a no-confidence motion.

12 councillors led by Dayanand Deulkar have served a notice of no-confidence motion today.

They have cited no development as the reason to move the notice.

D’Silva was elected the chairperson by voting out Sushila Naik, the first chairperson of the existing council.

He was elected through a lot as there was voting of 10 each in 20-member council.


One councillor, who had earlier signed against Naik, did cross-voting and D’Silva got elected through a lot.

All the councillors in Margao municipality today belong either to the group led by Margao MLA Digambar Kamat or Fatorda independent MLA Vijay Sardesai.

There is no councillor having allegiance to the ruling BJP party. 

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Local Bodies