BJP's Sankhli municipal heads face no-confidence

VISHANT VAZE, BICHOLIM | 02 July 2013 21:25 IST

Rains have washed away the toppling game in Goa Assembly, but it may wash away the BJP-ruled Sankhli municipal council.

Six Sankhli councillors have moved a no confidence motion against both the chairperson and the deputy chairperson in an 11-member council.

Exactly 41 days ago, with a wafer-thin majority, the BJP had established its own council along with Ponda municipality.

However, Damodar Ghadi, the BJP councillor, made a volte face by signing on the no-confidence motion today, along with four Congress councillors and independent Dharmesh Saglani.

Sankhli municipal chairperson Milind Relekar had benefited in the BJP camp as Congress was trying to shift him over to their side.

Three other BJP contestants in the race had then withdrawn, including Ghadi, in support of Relekar.

The other two contestants were Upendra Karpe and Manisha Pokle while Saglani, an independent, had also backed out from the race of Sankhli chief.

Saglani however was defeated by 6-5 votes by Dayanand Boryekar, who was then elected the deputy chairperson.

Besides Ghadi, four Congress councillors – Riyaz Khan, Rashmi Desai, Vibha Desai and Kunda Madkar – have signed the letter moving the no-confidence motion, besides Saglani.

Letters in this regard have been posted to Director of Municipal Administration Elvis Gomes and Sankhli chief officer Anil Rane Sardesai, Khan informed

The group of six councillors have named themselves as Sankhli Vikas Manch (SVM), claiming to have not taken any political support.  

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Previous Comments

Kissa kursi ka!

As expected, this was bound to happen.

No interest of Sankhli or the residents of Sankhli. Only personal interest.

- Francisco, Goa | 02 nd July 2013 23:10


Latest News

Local Bodies