Rhea, David champs of 2nd day windsurfing

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 25 May 2013 00:25 IST

Rhea Fernandes and David Estibeiro were the wunderkinds of the second day of racing in the Windsurfing National Championship being held in Goa.

While Rhea overtook all the boys in the Raceboard Junior category in Races 5 and 6, David Estibeiro, sailing with a small 5.5 sq metre sail, put in a spirited performance to finish ahead of all the fancied Techno 293 sailors with their larger 7.8 sq metre sails, taking advantage of the light winds in the morning’s two races.

In the Olympic RS:X class, defending national champion Satappa K overcame his initial hiccups from yesterday to win all three of the day’s races decisively.

In the Mistral Class, Remy Fernandes of Goa continued his absolute dominance, as did Dayne and Katya Coelho in the Techno 293 category, while Raunak Pai and Chadwick D’Mello fought over second and third places.

In the Raceboard Open, Donald Coelho consolidated his commanding position, winning all the day’s races, while Russel Lobo, who, had won all the previous races in the Raceboard Juniors category found a surprising challenger of the opposite sex in the young Rhea Fernandes.

In sub-juniors, Myron Gomes continued his winning ways, bagging all three races and cementing his hold on the championship.

In the Topper India Grand Prix, also being sailed at Cidade de Goa, Dheer Singhi sprang a surprise on Vishnu Sujeesh in Race 4.

Sujeesh had won all the previous races, and later came back to bag Races 5 and 6.

Akil Sai Kumar, who had lagged earlier also came a surprise third in Race 4. Goa’s Charbelle Lobo came third in Race 5, while Diya Correia was third in Race 6.


Race4: RS:X: 1: Satappa K, 2: D P Chennaiah, 3: Jerome Kumar. Mistral: 1: Remy Fernandes, 2: Ram Lal. Techno 293 Youth Men: 1: Dayne Coelho, 2: Chadwick D’Mello, 3: Raunak Pai. Techno 293 Youth Women: 1: Katya Coelho, 2: Malaika Vaz, 3: Malvika Joshi. Raceboard Open: 1: Donald Coelho, 2: Saddam Hossain Shah. Raceboard Youth Men: 1: David Estibeiro, 2: Cany Rodrigues. Raceboard Youth Women: 1: Manaswini M, 2: Neha Correia. Raceboard Junior Boys: 1: Russel Lobo, 2: Rhea Fernandes (Girl), 3: Anston Rodrigues. Raceboard Sub-Juniors: 1: Myron Gomes, 2: Malban Cabral, 3: Ryan Rodrigues.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Previous Comments

Dear Cany,

Congratulations to you and to your Parents.

- Jose Cunha, GoA(UK) | 25 th May 2013 05:31


Latest News