Roy-Ravi humiliated, MGP-BJP wins Ponda poll

GOANEWS DESK, PONDA | 13 May 2013 12:36 IST

Former minister Ravi Naik and his panel faced a real humiliating defeat even with his son Roy losing while the MGP-BJP combine winning almost 11 seats out of total 14.

Roy Ravi Naik could not garner more than 35 per cent votes in his father Ravi’s stronghold Ward No 4.

Lalan Naik is the sole Congress-supported candidate elected in Ponda election, defeating sitting councilor Vandana Jog.

Radhika Naik, heading the panel of the MGP-BJP and former municipal president, has won the election.

Only two former councilors – Vincent Fernandes and Shivanand Sawant – won the election.

On the other hand, five former councilors lost, including former president Kishor Naik.

The other four losers are Sanjay Naik, Vandana Jog, Damodar Naik and Pradip Naik.

Damodar and Pradip, contesting from the same ward number 6, lost to local BJP leader Sunil Desai.

The voters of Ponda preferred independents to the Congress as two of them won the election – Sitaram Dangi and Vidya Punalkar.

The ward-wise winners are as follows:

Ward 1. Sitaram Dangi - Ind

Ward 2. Geetali Talaulikar – MGP/BJP

Ward 3. Irwin Soares - MGP/BJP

Ward 4. Venkatesh Naik - MGP/BJP

Ward 5. Lalan Naik - Cong

Ward 6. Sunil Desai - MGP/BJP

Ward 7. Vishwanath Dalvi - MGP/BJP

Ward 8. Shanti Naik - MGP/BJP

Ward 9. Vincent Fernandes - MGP/BJP

Ward 10. Shantaram Kolvekar - MGP/BJP

Ward 11. Radhika Naik - MGP/BJP

Ward 12. Shivanand Sawant - MGP/BJP

Ward 13. Vidya Punalkar – Ind

Ward 14. Nidhi Mamlekar - MGP/BJP

Final Tally: MGP/BJP – 11, Ind – 2, Cong - 1

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Local Bodies