Vijai, Rohan lift major portfolios, Sudin retains PWD

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 20 March 2017 21:44 IST

Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar allotted the first instalment of portfolios today, with one to each among his nine colleagues.

Goa Forward leader, as expected, is being allotted the most precious Town and Country Planning portfolio.

Second in line is Rohan Khaunte, who was supported by the Congress to defeat the BJP. He got Revenue.

The third in line is MGP leader Sudin Dhawalikar, who quit the earlier BJP-led coalition, to defeat the BJP and become the chief minister.

In spite of getting only three members elected once again, Parrikar retained his ‘lucrative’ PWD portfolio.

Comparatively, independent Govind Gaude, who was supported by the BJP in Priol to defeat MGP president Dipak Dhawalikar, is made the minister for Art and Culture.

The BJP, in a way, embarrassed its former Siolim MLA Dayanand Mandrekar by allotting Vinod Palienkar, who defeated the BJP, by giving Mandrekar’s old portfolio: Water Resources.

Parrikar has presently retained all other portfolios with him, which he would either allot to  two more vacant posts and some more to the existing cabinet members at later stage.

Following is the party-wise portfolio allocation:


Vijai Sardesai: Town & Country Planning

Vinod Palienkar: Water Resources

Jayesh Salgaonkar: Housing and Housing Board


Sudin Dhawalikar: PWD

Babu Azgaonkar: Tourism


Rohan Khaunte: Revenue

Govind Gaude: Art & Culture


Francis D’Souza: Urban Development

Pandurang Madkaikar: Power

Manohar Parrikar: Home, Finance, Personnel, General Administration, Vigilance, Transport. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Previous Comments

Why is it that Sudin Dhavlikar is given PWD portfolio every time. Is he the best where corruption is concerned ?

- Oswald Rebello, Goa | 30 th March 2017 16:36


AAP Topi was far better than GFP Topi & Congress Topi.

Both have given chance to BJP to form the government.

All are one and the same except AAP.

- Jack De Goan, Goa | 21 st March 2017 22:13


Latest News

Assembly 17