Mapusa Babush 'manages' clean sweep, but loses Bhakta

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 27 October 2015 14:34 IST

Deputy Chief Minister Francisco D’Souza finally managed to put up a brave front by winning 16 seats out of total 20 in Mapusa municipal election.

The other four are independents.

D’Souza, also the urban development minister, was caught up in a controversy over allegations of delimitations of wards as per his convenience.

He however lost his most-trusted present chairperson Rupa Bhatka while securing a big victory for his Mapusa Development Front.

Also lost is the deputy chairperson Vijeta Naik.

Almost five ex-chairpersons lost the election.

They include sitting councillors Michael Carasco and Ashish Shirodkar as well as Prabhakar Vernekar and Subhash Kalangutkar – both independents.

The prime commercial town of coastal North Goa has elected 15 new faces this time.

Only three sitting councillors could win – Sandip Falari, Sudhir Kalangutkar and Melwyn D’Souza.

Also two ex-councillors are elected once again – Ryan Braganza and Rohan Kavalekar. is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Local Bodies