10 women honoured with Yashodamini Award

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 09 March 2013 11:16 IST

Recipients of Yashodamini with CM Parrikar

Ten women from various fields were honoured with government-sponsored Yashodamini Award at Women’s Day programme yesterday.

The awards, for the years 2012 and 2013, were given at the hands of chief minister Manohar Parrikar.

The recipients are Suhsani Prabhugaonkarar, Shublaxmi Mandrekar, Malini Chari, Deeplaxi Kumar Avati, Sumedha Kamat Desai, Meghana Kurundwadkar, Vijaya Sheldekar, Ana Pinto, Mangala More and Shilpa Jagganath Bhosle.

Parrikar congratulated the women on the occasion of  International Women’s Day and said one needs to take stronger steps to end the stigma on rape victims and other victims of crime against women.

"It is the responsibility of women to raise their voice against these social ills," he said.

Deputy Chief Minister Francisco D’Souza, Chairperson of Mapusa Municiapl Council Sudhir Kandolkar, Secretary of Women & Child Development, P Krishnamurthi, Commissioner of Women’s Commisison Vidhya Shet Tanavde, Director of Women & Child Development Sunil Masurkar were also present.

Meghana Devari proposed a vote of thanks. 

goanews.com is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image