Goa had 20 CMs in 44 years

PTI, PANAJI | 01 June 2007 23:12 IST

Since 1963, when elections were first held in Goa after its liberation from the Portuguese, this tourist paradise has seen 20 chief ministers with current incumbent Pratapsingh Rane having served seven times in the post.

During 1990-2000, Goa witnessed the swearing-in of 13 chief ministers as well as a four-month spell of President's Rule.

After Goa's liberation, Dayanand Balkrishna alias Bhausaheb Bandodkar became chief minister in the first elections held in 1963. Incidentally, he was not a member of the assembly when he was sworn in.

Within six months of being sworn in as chief minister on December 20, 1963, Bandodkar was elected from Madkai constituency. He quit on December 2, 1966 and sought a fresh mandate.

In elections held in 1967, Bandodkar's Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) returned to power and he became chief minister again.

In the 1972 elections, he scored a hat trick by becoming chief minister again on March 23, 1972. However, his third stint was short as he died on August 12, 1973 following a heart attack. The same day, his daughter Shashikala Kakodkar was sworn in as chief minister.

After elections were held in 1977, Kakodkar became chief minister again on June 7, 1977. Following a rebellion in the MGP, her government fell on April 27, 1977 and President's Rule was imposed in Goa.

Rane became chief minister on January 16, 1980. In January 1985, he again became chief minister. On May 30, 1987, Goa was accorded statehood.

In May 1987, Rane became the first chief minister of the new state whose term ended in 1990. In elections held in 1990, Rane became chief minister again. Following a split in the party, Rane's government fell and he quit on March 27, 1990. 

Churchill Alemao, who now heads the Save Goa Front, became chief minister but lasted only 19 days in office.

On April 14, 1990, L Barboza became chief minister. On December 14, 1990, a vote of no-confidence against him was passed in the assembly following which he quit.

Ravi Naik became chief minister in 1991. He was later disqualified and quit the office.

On May 18, 1993, Wilfred Dsouza became the eighth chief minister of Goa. On April 2, 1994, he was dismissed by the governor. The same day, Naik again became chief minister but he had to step down from the post within seven days.

On April 8, 1993, Dsouza again became chief minister. On December 16, 1994, Rane became Goa's 11th chief minister. His government fell on July 29, 1998 following a rebellion within his Congress party.

The same day, Dsouza again became chief minister. His government also became a victim of Congress rebellion and on November 23, 1998, Luizinho Faleiro became the 13th chief minister of Goa. He later quit on February 8, 1999 following a rebellion. Later, President's Rule was imposed in the state.

In the June 1999 polls, Faleiro became the 14th chief minister of Goa after leading his party to an absolute majority in the assembly. 

On November 24, 1999, Faleiro's government fell following rebellion in his party. Francisco Sardinha then became chief minister.

On October 24, 2000, a BJP-led government was sworn in, with Manohar Parrikar becoming chief minister. The Goa assembly was dissolved on February 28, 2002.

Rane again became chief minister in February 2005. The governor dismissed his government the following month as he failed to win the trust vote.

Following the success of the Congress in bypolls to five assembly seats, Rane again became chief minister in June 2005, heading a coalition which included Congress (18 members), NCP (two), MGP (one) and an independent.

Though Goa has seen the swearing-in of 20 chief ministers, only 10 individuals have so far assumed the post, with Rane serving for the longest period of 15 years and two months.

goanews.com is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Assembly '07