31 to BJP, 8 to MGP & support Ind in Cumbarjua

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 05 February 2012 12:43 IST

Nitin Gadkari & Dipak Dhawalikar jointly announcing BJP-MGP alliance

The BJP-MGP alliance is final. MGP will contest eight seats, while the BJP would contest 31 seats, leaving Cumbarjua to support independent, obviously Nirmala Sawant.

The announcement was made by BJP national president Nitin Gadkari, at a joint press conference held with the MGP.

The constituencies left for the MGP are – Madkai, Priol, Ponda, Quepem, Tivim, Dabolim, Nuvem and Benaulim.

The alliance was finalised last night after Gadkari arrived from Delhi.

The MGP is yet to finalise its candidates though five seats are almost confirmed.

They are Sudin Dhawalikar (Madkai), Dipak Dhawalikar (Priol), Lavu Mamledar (Ponda), Prakash Arjun Velip (Quepem) and Pratap Mardolkar (Dabolim).

After deliberating further, the MGP is expected to announce the list, probably by tomorrow.

The BJP also plans to announce its list by tomorrow morning.

“Our parliamentary board is meeting tonight to finalise the list”, said Gadkari.  

Gadkari also said the BJP has full faith in the BJP and also 101 per cent sure that the alliance would come to power.

“In fact we look at the Assembly polls in five states as a semi-final for the NDA to come back to power at the centre”, he said.

MGP working president Dipak Dhawalikar, at a press conference held earlier, said both the parties would work out a common minimum programme.

He also declared withdrawing support to the Congress-led coalition government.

According to them, the support is withdrawn on the issue like medium of instruction, illegal mining and price rise.

 “We knew that the Congress is corrupt but we were forced to continue as alliance partner by threatening to disqualify both of us”, claimed Dipak.

Sudin, at a joint press conference later, said that the whole government was not corrupt but some of the ministers are corrupt. 

goanews.com is now on Telegram & also Youtube. Kindly subscribe for free & remain updated.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Latest News

Assembly 12