Shantaram re-elected as RS MP, 1 doesn't vote, 1 invalid

GOANEWS DESK, PANAJI | 22 July 2011 20:40 IST

Sitting Rajya Sabha MP Shantaram Naik of Congress was re-elected to the upper House of Parliament, defeating BJP candidate and Fatorda MLA Damu Naik by 24 against 14 votes.

NCP MLA Mickky Pacheco did note, while one vote was found invailid.

Except Aldona Congress MLA Daynand Narvekar, all the ruling party MLAs voted after showing their ballot paper to the observer Mauvin Godinho.

Two MLAs each of the NCP and MGP refused to show their ballot papers to Congress observer Godinho. 

Both NCP and MGP had pledged their support to Shantaram Naik.

Claiming that he did not want to suppert both the candidate, NCP's third MLA Pacheco did not vote.

Goa Assembly as 20 Congress legislators, three NCP, two MGP, 14 BJP and one independent Anil Salgaoncar.

Ruling out possibility of makin his vote invalid, Narvekar claimed he is the loyal Congressman and he has voted for Shantaram.

Chief minister Digambar Kamat, while refusing to speak about the invalid vote, congratulated Shantaram for getting re-elected.

Defeated BJP candidate Damu Naik also congratulated Shantaram.

"I will continue working for the people of Goa while raising several issues of national concerns in the House", Shantaram told the media after getting elected.

Drop a comment

Enter The Code Displayed hereRefresh Image

Previous Comments

hi Tony,

They are good at apple polishing there high command....

- magic, Ponda | 04 th January 2012 16:43


Why is this man reelected to RS. Its about time these politicians retire and do something meaningful with the life. Sick and tired of seing the same people getting reelected again and again merely because they must be good with something that we don't know of..

- Toni, Utorda | 04 th January 2012 07:00


Latest News